Toggle menu


Great Yarmouth's Town Hall is steeped in history with stunning architecture throughout the building. 

The building was officially opened on 31 May 1882 by the then Prince of Wales - later to become Edward VII. Its stunning Assembly Room was described as "one of the finest interiors in Eastern England and a measure, like the entire building, of the town's prosperity in the late 19th Century".

Over a hundred years after opening the building, Edward VII's great-grand-daughter Queen Elizabeth II visited with the Duke of Edinburgh in 1985, where they were welcomed by a choir of 250 local children.

In 1998, the building's importance was recognised with a Grade II* historic buildings listing.

The Assembly Room, which features fluted columns and pilasters, Corinthian columns, and deep coving below a barrel-vaulted roof has many guises today such as weddings, meetings and parties.

Town Hall timeline

  • 1716 - First Town Hall built at a cost of £880. Before this the main civic building was the Tolhouse, built in 1150.
  • 1879 - The Treasury agrees a loan to fund a new town hall, and Norwich firm Lacey and Co win the build tender.
  • 1880 - Building starts in April, with the three-tonne principal cornerstone laid by the mayor, councillor Charles Cory Aldred.
  • 1882 - The new Town Hall and Municipal Buildings are opened by the Prince of Wales (later Edward VII), on May 31 at a grand celebration attended by 350 guests.
  • 1886 - Subsidence leads to underpinning work, using iron cylinders filled with concrete.
  • 1985 - Edward VII's great-grand-daughter Queen Elizabeth II visits with the Duke of Edinburgh, welcomed by a choir of 250 local children.
  • 1998 - The Town Hall building is listed as Grade II*.

Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email